2013 Fall season First Impressions! Part 1

2013FIPart1

I have returned from my long hiatus, reason being I felt Stella Jogakuin wasn’t really getting views or reads for the most part so I figured it would be a nice idea to take a little break and start again with this fall season of anime. While on my hiatus I thought about a new way to write, maybe one that will be fun and straight to the point, simple so its fun and I don’t feel like im going on and on, and well enjoyable to read that the main idea with this new start. So in other words turning over a new leaf this fall season more way than one if you get my drift.

First Impressions, you know the drill if not the its simple, after the first episode of each series I give my input, whether I’m going to stick with it or drop it.I usually end up watching almost everything in each season, with a wide range of genres that I like there is a lot of interesting series out there, not to mention when they mix some of my favorites together.

This Week on First impressions We have

Coppelion

Coppelion

http://myanimelist.net/anime/9479/Coppelion

So this one looked neat, the PV showed some awesome action scenes followed by some giant spider robot which I Have to admit it was pretty epic. The story takes place In 2016 a nuclear power plant cases a big catastrophe leaving the parts of the world with high levels of radiations, 20 years later Solid snake lookalike from the Self Defence force sends out highschool girls to look for survivors because they have been made to withstand radiation. After watching the first episode I can say that I want to see more and see what our characters will find in their searches, because I’m sure there is something not quite right behind the scenes, and again the PV of a giant monster attack was pretty awesome. So ya I can’t wait to see how that happens or why it happens. The art style is different and surprise! no up-skirt shot, Yay for keeping it classy guys.

For some reason when I see Ibara Naruse I automatically think of  Shino Amakusa, from Seitokai Yakuindomo.. I dunno if that would make this series cooler or lamer.. just something I silly I had to share.

Kyousougiga

Kyousougiga

http://myanimelist.net/anime/19703/Kyousou_Giga_(TV)

Welp I am very excited  to see this ONA finally get a 13 episode series, however it is quite a confusing  one ill say, so ill break it down a little from what I’ve read. Basically Our main Koto and her little brothers are having fun causing massive mayhem through the land of Kyoto, they are in search for their mother, but it looks like Koto isn’t really wanting to look for her, probably for leaving them behind or something. Kyoto is ruled by Yase, Kuruma, and Myoue (Demon, Saint, Human Monk) and they are also looking for “mother”, the long-absent Lady Koto, but now that the young girl Koto (same name as Lady Koto, different spelling) turns up, it sorta keeps Lady Koto from sharing the same dimension, But if Koto is place in extreme danger they can cause Lady Koto to return to them.

To go into it more my guess is that Lady Koto and Koto are the same person, it says Kyoto is the mirror capital, making me think it is a copy of another Kyoto, or rather a different dimension, Lady Koto and Koto somehow got swapped and thus causing Lady Koto to go missing. Sharing the same name with different spellings and the rules of Kyoto think she is the key to all this. So the only lead is to follow this bunny, but this is just my speculations and what I’m guess at this point. ANN sorta breaks things down a bit better in my opinion.

Lastly why I like this slightly confusing series, right away I am reminded of FLCL’s random craziness, over the top action scenes while making everything all Penguindrum-ified while adding it’s play on words to add more to the confusion! Even the very simple animation makes it quite enjoyable, from crazy silly expressions to impossible anatomy moves making you ask yourself if it is indeed possible to do in real life. These mindless feats are enough to make me like this series, But what I am mostly hoping to get out of this is what actually is going on and I’m sure with 10 or 13 episodes we will, So i can’t wait to see the story actually unfold this time around.

Kyoukai no Kanata

Kyoukai no Kanata

http://myanimelist.net/anime/18153/Kyoukai_no_Kanata

So this one I had high hopes that it wouldn’t be another Chuunibyou, but knowing it be dumb for them to do two series based on Delusions. This one was just what I was expecting things to turn out and the first episode was great, mixing action, moe clumsiness mixed with cute sounds from Mirai, with all the silliness to go around, oh and glasses to boot! I’m sure ill like this series a lot this season. Basicly Mirai uses cured blood to kill Youmu, yet she is scared of them, But with Akihito by her side she will be able to hopefully cope with her job of killing these youmu’s.Mitsuki on the other hand wants Akihito to stay away from her, which has me guessing she likes him but wants to get rid of Mirai, being the last of spirit warriors (demon Slayer) and doesn’t want Akihito to interfere because she sorta likes him, Though again I am just speculating here. This series looks like it will be a fun story as things starts to get serious and unfold.

Nagi no Asukara

Nagi no Asukara

http://myanimelist.net/anime/16067/Nagi_no_Asukara

A beautiful looking series hands down everything from the land, the sea, even the characters look nice right down to those big blue eyes, but that’s what everyone would say because well PA is behind this one after all. So what matters.. At first this series sounds decent, but after the first episode im pretty much hooked on this one now because I know there will be some drama to unfold later on, and I can already see the love triangles forming. Something about a story where the main character/s are outcasts, seeing what troubles they face, how they cope with it, I’ve seen this play out countless times and each time it gives me such a good feeling. My only complaint is Hikari Sakishima, This guy… man he is so mean to poor little Manaka, I get it you’re just looking after her but damn man.. relax gesh! Anyways I’ll stay with this one in hopes for a nice little romance story full of drama and love love this season, which I’m a total sucker for and fall in love with the characters, even though it’s usually already determined who they end up with, ahh such is fate with a romance. maybe….maybe… this one will be different.. pfff,.. we will sea.

Strike the Blood

Strike the Blood

http://myanimelist.net/anime/18277/Strike_the_Blood

This series I wasn’t too sure about, it sorta reminded me of Blood Knight but a little different, girl protects vampire and what not. Now I didn’t mind that series and I do like vampires to an extent.. I’m just glad it’s not a loli vampire that would suck..On the other hand this one also feels like to aru majutsu no index, small city where just about everyone has demon powers, magic and all that jazz, so ya this series has a lot of likes and comparisons.  My exceptions are not too high with this one, the story is about Kojou Akatsuki, who has no memories but apparently he might be the Fourth primogenitor and is being put under observation by a middle school apprentice sword shaman girl wielding the strongest anti primogenitor spirit spear. Ya that sounds cool it seems a bit simple to me but it is enough to stick around for and see what develops, it is pretty to watch even those upskirt shots of those pretty red/pink design panties…ya.

IS Infinite Stratos 2

IS: Infinite Stratos 2

http://myanimelist.net/anime/18247/IS:_Infinite_Stratos_2

Ok this season brings back IS Infinite Stratos 2, which i can say I’m not expecting anything from at all, and as sad as it sounds I’m only watching for Charlotte, what the first episode I would replace the title with Laura and Charlotte’s date, because basically that’s what the main part of this episode was about. Laura feels like she just made a 360 in personality, she is more open and much much more cuter.. the scene in the bed with Ichika, oh my Laura, her face when she said “I’m not nakked!” she looked so proud of herself. No back to dense Ichika for inviting everyone to festival when clearly Laura wanted to be alone with him… lucky guy gosh. After the episode Laura clearly has a better chance with Charlotte…they are bound to be shipped like now.. They WERE SOO Adorably CUtE in those costumes, Laura blushing and charlotte wanting her to say ‘meow’ can they be any more cute?! Anyways that aside this series might turn out to be decently good, that part with the military getting destroyed by our mysterious  character( I’m assuming its Ichika sister just playing the other side or looking for clues) and the new blue haired character sorta gets me a bit expected to see what is in store for this season of IS2.

Outbreak Company

Outbreak Company

http://myanimelist.net/anime/19369/Outbreak_Company

Welp all I can say about this one is it sounds very stupid, the idea to spread the otaku knowledge to the fantasy world just sounds lame and dumb, but for some reason I still want to watch it. Ya if i didn’t have much time to watch anime I would probably drop this one quickly, but for now ill give it more time. Not much else to say about this one, it will sure be entertaining to say the least and maybe it might surprise me and do well which i highly doubt so well see how this one turns out.

Kill La Kill

Kill La Kill

http://myanimelist.net/anime/18679/Kill_la_Kill

Ok this series is the Number one spot on my anime watch list this season, Being a fan of Guren Lagann I am expecting great things from this series,much like Kyousougiga, the over the top action, the simple art style everything that made me fall in love with Gurren Lagann. Now Trigger is fairly new ish (est. 2011), but so far I’ve enjoyed everything they’ve done and of course that comes with no surprise because they use to be part of Ginax so I’m overly excited to see what else they do. Speaking of other things they have made, Little Witch Academia is one anime I’ve enjoyed and would watch like a million times, I’ve even started to imitate the art style, it’s is a neat design and very simple truly inspiring my art style.

Moving on, Kill La Kill is both insanes and quite entertaining, the first episode was a rollercoaster of a ride without stopping, the action just kept on rolling till the end making for a very impressive first impression, I just wonder how long they can keep that pace going.The story is pretty straight forward Ryuuko is a transfer student wielding a giant basami scissors sword, in search of her father killer, her sight is set on Satsuki “Steel Queen” Kiryuin the Student Council President of Honnouji Academy. Ryuuko believes Satsuki knows something but she is stopped by the council’s Four divine kings, but luckily for Ryuuko she gains the power of a sailor uniform that wants her to wear it, and it’s actually a keepsake from her family.  Now that bit about the uniform sounds kinda stupid but.. hey.. why not right.. it wont keep me away from this series, Just wear me on this.

Little Busters! Refrain

Little Busters!: Refrain

http://myanimelist.net/anime/18195/Little_Busters!:_Refrain

So Little Busters makes a return this season which I’m not too over excited about but I am looking forward to see the other characters stories. For some reason I’ve been told things get darker in this half and that is almost like the first series never happened? which confuses me, and watching the first episode of the second season feels like things are all normal just showing off the other characters stories that wasn’t talked much about from the first season. But either way I’ll watch this one and see for myself what going to happen and what not, however I dunno little busters isn’t high on my watch list for some reason..maybe to me this series is meh.. the first episode was a bit boring till Kurugaya arc started. Other than that ill still watch this one in hoped of it surprising me and gaining my attention.

Yuusha ni Narenakatta Ore wa Shibushibu Shuushoku wo Ketsui Shimashita.

Yuusha ni Narenakatta Ore wa Shibushibu Shuushoku wo Ketsui Shimashita.

This one came out of nowhere for me I like to go into an anime not really knowing what the story will be about to feel more surprised when I finally watch it, and that isn’t always a good thing. This series started out fantasy fighting then the next minute they are working at some best buy/ magic shop selling all sorts of things that are powered by magic.. I was feeling like they are trying to hard to cash in on ‘Hataraku Maou-sama! Thankfully there aren’t any loli in this one, but far too many juggling boob girls, at least 5 of them, and panty shots to maybe help their sells? which ever the case for this one it might find its way on my drop list, I’ll have to see more to see if I will actually be missing out on anything with this series

.

coming soon

Walkure Romanze

Gundam Build Fighters

Gingitsune

Kikou Shoujo wa Kizutsukanai

Pupa

Yowamushi Pedal

Tokyo Ravens

Non Non Biyori

Aoki Hagane no Arpeggio

BlazBlue: Alter Memory

Kakumeiki Valvrave 2nd Season

Ore no Nounai Sentakushi ga, Gakuen Love Comedy wo Zenryoku de Jama Shiteiru

Galilei Donna

Freezing Vibration

Log Horizon

Diamond no Ace

Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic 2

Yozakura Quartet: Hana no Uta

Tesagure! Bukatsumono

Sekai de Ichiban Tsuyoku Naritai!

Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle 3rd Season

Teekyuu 3

Leave a Reply

